Compare

Jobber vs Housecall Pro, compared on scheduling from their own websites

Both are all-in-one platforms for home service businesses, and both put scheduling at the center. This page compares only what each company's own site says, dated, with the source linked beside every claim.

Same six stops, two ways to book them● live sketch
- - Phone order— Map orderThis sketch: less road

Jobber and Housecall Pro come up together in almost every search for home service software. They are the same kind of product: quoting, scheduling, invoicing and payments in one app, sold to small and mid-sized service companies. The useful question is not which one is "better." It is which one's scheduling fits the way your days actually run.

Everything below comes from the two companies' own public websites, checked in October 2026. Products change. Before you buy, open the same pages and confirm.

What each company says it is

As of October 2026, Jobber's homepage leads with "Run a stronger service business" and says it keeps your work moving "from first quote to final payment." It says it serves more than 50 industries and has partnered with more than 400,000 service professionals.

As of October 2026, Housecall Pro's homepage leads with "Everything to run and grow your business." It names scheduling, dispatching, estimates, a price book, time tracking, review management, reporting, vehicle GPS tracking, job costing, invoicing, payments, route optimization and a call answering service, and says it serves more than 200,000 professionals across 50+ industries.

Both are suites. If you want one login from the first quote to the paid invoice, both are built for that. For the wider field of all-in-one tools, see how to choose field service management software.

Scheduling and dispatch, side by side

Jobber Housecall Pro
Calendar and drag-and-drop "custom calendar views, color coding, and easy drag-and-drop editing" (scheduling page) "Drag and drop appointments, filter views, and color-code by area or employee" (scheduling page)
Drive time when finding a slot "See the best openings in your calendar based on your team's availability and drive times" (scheduling page) "See estimated travel time between jobs and optimize for drive time with a click" (scheduling page)
Route optimization "built-in route optimization feature" (scheduling page); routing listed on the Grow plan (pricing) "Routes" listed on Essentials and "Route optimization" on Max (pricing)
GPS "live vehicle GPS location" (scheduling page) "View every vehicle on a live map" (dispatching page); "Employee GPS tracking" on Essentials (pricing)
Crews "Crew scheduling: Group teammates into crews, assign work in one action" on the Plus plan (pricing) Not stated on the pages we checked
Customer texts Not stated on the pages we checked Reminders and "On my way" texts (dispatching page)

All details as of October 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the linked pages, not that the product lacks it.

How drive time enters each product

This is where the two pages read differently, and it is worth being precise.

Jobber's scheduling page says its suggested openings are "based on your team's availability and drive times." That describes drive time being used when you look for where a new job could go.

Housecall Pro's pages describe drive time as something you see and then act on: "See estimated travel time between jobs," "optimize for drive time with a click," and "See estimated drive times between jobs so you can adjust schedules" (dispatching page). Its dispatching page also describes route optimization changes that "automatically sync to techs' mobile apps."

Neither page, as we read it, says from which location the drive is measured (the shop, the tech's home, or the previous job) or how the check behaves late in a busy day. That is the question to ask both vendors in a demo, using one of your own real days. The checklist in choosing field service scheduling software works for both.

Online booking

Both offer customer self-booking, and their pages describe it differently.

Jobber's online booking page (as of October 2026) says bookings "will automatically be scheduled around your existing appointments," and that you can spend less time on the road "by setting a limit on what area you service and how far you'll drive between appointments."

Housecall Pro's online booking page (as of October 2026) says it shows customers "real, bookable time slots automatically based on your team's schedule, service area, and job duration," and that you can add the booking form to your website, social media and email signature.

So Jobber's page names a drive limit between appointments as a booking control, and Housecall Pro's page names service area and job duration. If customers book themselves into your day, test both with addresses at the edge of your area and see which times each one offers.

Plans and trials

We are not quoting prices here. Both companies publish them, and they change. Check Jobber's pricing page and Housecall Pro's pricing page directly.

What the pricing pages said about structure, as of October 2026:

  • Jobber lists four plans: Core, Connect, Grow and Plus, with monthly, one-year-commitment and prepaid annual options, and a per-user charge beyond the included users. Routing appears on Grow; crew scheduling appears on Plus. It offers a 14-day trial of the Grow plan with no credit card required.
  • Housecall Pro lists three plans: Basic, Essentials and Max, with monthly and annual billing. Basic includes 1 user, Essentials 5 and Max 8. Online booking and scheduling and dispatching are on Basic; routes and employee GPS tracking on Essentials; route optimization and open API access on Max. It offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

The practical point: on both, the routing features sit on higher tiers. If routing is why you are buying, compare the tier that includes it, not the entry plan.

How to choose between them

Both are mature all-in-one platforms. A few honest ways to split the decision:

  • You run crews and want to assign a crew in one action. Jobber lists crew scheduling on its Plus plan. Ask Housecall Pro how it handles crews on your size of team.
  • You want reminders and "on my way" texts called out on the dispatch page. Housecall Pro's dispatching page names both. Ask Jobber to show you its customer messaging.
  • You want route optimization on a specific tier. Compare Jobber Grow with Housecall Pro Max, since those are where each lists it.
  • Your team is around five to eight users. Both pricing pages list how many users each plan includes, and the counts differ by tier. Price your exact headcount on both.

Run the same test on both trials: load one real day with eight jobs across your territory, book a ninth job from the customer side, and see which slots each one offers and how the drive looks on the board afterward.

Where CrewLink fits, briefly

CrewLink is a different kind of product: scheduling and dispatch, with customer texts, deposits and invoices, but no quoting or CRM. It offers only times a qualified tech can reach, computed from the previous job, and is in early access for companies running 5 to 50 trucks. If you're comparing it directly, see CrewLink vs Jobber and CrewLink vs Housecall Pro. If you want quote-to-payment in one app, Jobber or Housecall Pro is the better fit.

What to take away

  • Jobber and Housecall Pro are both all-in-one platforms with scheduling at the center.
  • Jobber's page says its suggested openings use availability and drive times; Housecall Pro's pages describe seeing travel time and optimizing for it.
  • Route optimization sits on higher tiers on both (Jobber Grow, Housecall Pro Max), as of October 2026.
  • Jobber lists crew scheduling on Plus; Housecall Pro lists "on my way" texts on its dispatch page.
  • Test both trials on one of your own real days before deciding.

Common questions

Is Jobber or Housecall Pro better for scheduling?

It depends on how your days run. As of October 2026, Jobber's site says its openings account for drive times and lists crew scheduling on its top plan, while Housecall Pro's site describes travel-time views, route optimization on Max and on-my-way texts. Test both on one of your real days.

Do Jobber and Housecall Pro both have route optimization?

Yes, both list it as of October 2026. Jobber shows routing on its Grow plan, and Housecall Pro shows route optimization on its Max plan, with routes on Essentials.

Do Jobber and Housecall Pro have free trials?

As of October 2026, both pricing pages offer a 14-day trial with no credit card required. Jobber's trial is of its Grow plan.

Which is better for crews, Jobber or Housecall Pro?

Jobber's pricing page lists crew scheduling, grouping teammates into crews, on its Plus plan. We did not find crew scheduling described on the Housecall Pro pages we checked, so ask Housecall Pro directly how it handles crews.

See your own day on it

CrewLink offers only the times a crew can actually reach, from where the truck will be. Plug in your trucks, services and city and see how your week would run, then walk through it with your own territory. CrewLink is in early access.

Set up your CrewLinkIndependent contractor? Join CrewConnect